Gold for Denmark at the 66 Trofeo Ciutat de Palma

Malthe Ebdrup, of the Royal Danish Yacht Club, wins the Balearic historic competition in the Optimist Class, after a very tight dispute with the Italian Massimiliano Antoniazi and the german Mewes Weduwild. The Malloquin crew formed by Marc Lladó and Toni Massanet win in the 420 class. 35 races have been sailed and 51 starts given during the four racing days.

The Danish sailor, Malthe Ebdrup, from the Royal Danish Yacht Club, wins the 66 Trofeo Ciutat de Palma in the Optimist class after surpassing the Italian Massimiliano Antoniazi, of the Yacht Club Adriaco, by only one point and with six points of difference from the German sailor, Mewes Weduwild. The competition has gathered in the RCNP facilities 440 sailors from 10 nations.

The last competition day at the Ciutat de Palma has enjoyed some wonderful sailing conditions which helped to complete the program of the day. A generous NE blew since very early in the morning and built up to some gusts of 20 knots.

The podium in the Optimist (300 boats) class was decided only in the last race after a tight fight amongst the top five.  They switched places throughout the four days and finally Malthe with a 1-7-8  won the overall.

Another Danish sailor,  Helena Wolff, finished in fourth place even after a very bad first day. The best places Spanish sailor has been Manuel Alvarez, of the Club Náutico de Puerto Sherry, who finished ninth. The first local representant has been Nacho Baltasar, sailor of the Club Nàutic Sa Ràpita who finished 18th.

Manu Fraga explains the level this edition has had,. he says it can be compared to a European Championship . “this is why there has not been too much movement amongst the ten first places”. He also expresses how important it is to have an international and open regatta like the Ciutat de Palma. “This regatta is a prize for the youngest sailors and a luxury for the city.”

Two sailors from the RCNP, Marc Lladó and Toni Massanet, win the 420 class. Both had a very good championship without pressure as the Ciutat de Palma was not in their planning and they enjoyed two days out of the four with their ideal wind conditions (more than 15 knots of wind). Silver has been for Nick Zelmer and Till Seger, and bronze finally for two young promises of the RCNP team, Melsión Rosselló and Arturo Madero.

Matías Rodrigo, from the Club Náutico de Ibiza, wins in Laser 4.7 with ten points lead over the second placed Martina Magri, of the Club de Vela Port d’Andratx (CVA), the third place has been for her team mate Andreu Jaume. The winner has the best results overall the whole of the Ciutat de Palma (2, 1, 3, 1, 6, 2, 2). 

Laser Radial, finished with a tie (15 points) in the first and second place; Luis Cabot, of the Club Marítimo San Antonio de la Playa (CMSAP), and Mario Plomer (CVA). Luis finished first overall due to the major number of first places. Third place has been for Andreu Juan (CMSAP), only one point behind the first two. The Ciutat de Palma lived a tight finish in Laser Radial on the last day’s competition. 

Christian Vidal and Luis Fernández, of the Club de Mar Mallorca, won in the Snipe class with an unexpected poor participation. 

During these exciting four days at the 66 Trofeo Ciutat de Palma 35 races have been completed, 51 starts, considering the Optimists were divided in six groups of 100 boats in each start. The weather this year has offered different conditions, light (SW), medium (E) up to 15 knots, rain and important wind shifts.  The last day of competition was sailed with a nice and stable wind from NE reaching gusts of up to 20 knots of intensity.